History of IFMGA

 The IFMGA was founded in 1965 by Italy (Aosta valley), France, Austria and Switzerland.
More and more countries joined:
1969 Germany
1973 Canada
1976 South Tyrol
1977 Great Britain
1981 New Zealand
1982 Norway
1990 Peru
1991 Japan
1994 Spain
1996 Slovakia
1997 Slovenia
1997 Sweden
1997 USA
2000 Poland
2004 Bolivia, first country without skiing. The ENSA in Chamonix is at the moment responsible for the training.
2005 Argentina and Greece. GR has to train ski and high alpine tours in the Alps under supervision.
2006 Czech Republic
2009 Greece’s membership is suspended, because there is no training going on.
2011 The five Greek mountain guides have to join another national association and have to attend a further education course there in order to keep their international stamp also in the future.
2012 Nepal can be admitted as a member. 24 mountain guides have got the IFMGA certification.
The IFMGA history in more details.